Sri Krishna Matt


Sri Krishna Matt - Udupi


Sri Krishna temple of udupi, occupies first place among other seven places of pilgrimages. unique feature of Sri Krishna Matt(temple) is, Lord Krishna is worshiped through a window with nine holes known as "Navagraha Kitiki". This Navagraha Kitiki is beautifully decorated with fine arts and added more beauty through carving's and coated with silver plates. This is one of the unique ways to view lord Krishna.

Krishna Matta was founded by the Vaishnavite saint, Shri Madhwacharya in 13th century. He is also, the founder of "Dvaita school of Vedanta". It is also believed that Madhwacharya is the founder of idol of Sri Krishna in a large ball of gopichanda. According to legend, Kanakadasa, pious worshiper and devotee of lord Krishna was not allowed to enter the temple. But Kanakadasa stood outside the temple and prayed god with intense devotion. Lord Krsihna was so pleased, that, he appeared in front of Kanakadasa, by breaking the wall of the temple. The broken area is named as "Kanakana Kindi".

Even now disciples are allowed to pray through the "Kanakana Kindi".

Madhvacharya had many followers is disciples. Shri Sathya Thirtha was one among them. All other matts except astha matt was established by Sri Padmanabha Thirtha, Padmanabha Thirtha's disciples do not have right to perform pooja at Sri Krishnamatt, as it is headed and governed by ashta matt's. The ashta matt's are Sode Matt, Shirur Matt, Kanniyur Matt, Pejavara Matt, Palimaru Matt, Adamaru Matt, Krishnapura Matt, Puthige Matt.

Legend has it that once Kanakadasa, a pious worshiper and devotee of Lord Krishna, was not allowed into the temple. It didn't upset him; instead it made him pray with intense devotion. Lord Krishna was so pleased that the statue turned back to where Kanakadasa was praying, and the wall before Kanakadasa broke up to allow the disciple to gaze upon his heavenly form at the back of the Matt (monastery). Till today, devotees still worship Lord Krishna by praying through the same window that Kanakadasa was blessed with a view: It is known as Kanakanakindi.

Direct students of Madhvacharya were many. His first disciple was Shri Sathya Theertha. All other Matts except the Ashta Matts were established by Sri Padmanabha Thirtha. His disciples do not have the right to perform pooja to Lord Udupi Shri Krishna as it is headed and governed by the Ashta Matts such as Sode Matt, Shirur Matt, Kanniyur Matt, Pejavara Matt, Palimaru Matt, Adamaru Matt, Krishnapura Matt, Puthige Matt.

Sri Krishna Matt Acharya and Purohits conduct the poojas, before the sunrise and after the sunset, 14 poojas are held. They are: Nirmalya Visarjane, Ushakal Puja, Akshaya Pathra Pooja and Gopuja, Panchamratha Abhisheka Pooja, Alankarapuje, Avsarankhadi Pooja, Udvartha Pooja, Kalash Pooja, Thiratha Pooja, Mahapuje, Chamaraseve, Ratripuje, Mantapa Pooja and Shayanothsava Pooja. Pooja will be held early in the morning 4:30 am to 8:30 pm. For the devotees Sri Krishna Matt will be open till 10:30 pm. In Sri Krishna Temple at Udupi have three chariots, Biggest one chariot is called Brahma Ratha, Medium one is called Garuda Ratha and small one is called Chikha Ratha.

For Online E - Seva Service visit Corporation Bank